takacs quartet

The Takács Quartet is performing with special guest English pianist, Stephen Hough

February 18, 2022

We are delighted to welcome the Takács Quartet, the only chamber string ensemble to be named to the Gramophone Hall of Fame, who will be performing with the eminent English pianist Stephen Hough on February 22nd at 7:30 pm.

The Takács have commissioned Hough’s very first string quartet, which has been dedicated to them. This concert marks its Canadian premiere and is an exceptional opportunity to hear one of the very first performances. As always, the Colorado-based quartet is receiving the highest possible accolades worldwide, with the Guardian recently calling the ensemble “simply the best I have ever heard in concert.”

We are looking forward to the full programme:

Franz Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in B-flat major, Opus 76, No.4 “Sunrise”
Stephen Hough: String Quartet No. 1, Les Six Rencontres
Antonín Dvořák: Piano Quintet No. 2 in A major, Op. 81

Stephen Hough will be in attendance at the performance and joins the ensemble for the Dvořák quintet.

We’d also like to give a warm thank you to everyone who attended the Han Finckel Setzer Trio concert on February 15th. Following a standing ovation, as an encore they played the slow movement (adagio) from Joseph Haydn’s D-minor Trio, H. XV No. 23, sending a delighted audience home feeling sated.

Our Pick Your Own Ticket Series subscription is still available for the best pricing available. Grab them while you still can. Join us for live chamber music experiences for music that will uplift the soul!

Please note that all concerts in the 2021-2022 season will take place at the Vancouver Playhouse on either Tuesday evenings at 7:30 p.m. or Sunday afternoons at 3:00 p.m. To enter the theatre and attend a concert, you must follow any COVID-19 requirements in place at the time of the concert.

View more concert info, or download our brochure. If you have any enquiries, please email us.