Takács String Quartet

Takács String Quartet

March 13, 2016 3:00pm The Vancouver Playhouse, 600 Hamilton St.

Franz Joseph Haydn
Quartet in G minor, Opus 74 No.3 “Rider”

Dmitri Shostakovich
Quartet No.3 in F major, Opus 73

Ludwig van Beethoven
Quartet in C Major, Opus 59 No.3

In 2012, Gramophone announced that the Takács was the only string quartet to be inducted into its first Hall of Fame and they are one of our constant favourites. Their irresistible blend of virtuosic technique and engaging personality offers a window into the Hungarian quartet tradition. This programme includes a mature work by the father of string quartets, a middle Beethoven quartet, and a seminal post WWII work by Shostakovich, moving elegantly past the tenuous relationship with all things Soviet.

Ticket purchase powered by Artspoints.