Pražák and Zemlinsky Quartets Friends of Chamber-Music

Pražák & Zemlinsky Quartets

January 29, 2019 8:00pm The Vancouver Playhouse, 600 Hamilton St.

Antonín Dvořák: String Sextet in A major, Opus 48
Erwin Schulhoff: String Sextet (1924)
Felix Mendelssohn: String Octet in E-flat major, Opus 20

The 18th visit by the wonderful Czech Pražák Quartet is combined with the first appearance by the Zemlinsky Quartet. The Pražák Quartet continues the Bohemian burnished string sound tradition, making it an ongoing favourite with our audience. In this combined extravaganza, the musicians will perform folk-tinged string sextets by Dvořák and Schulhoff, and finish with Mendelssohn’s glorious teenage masterpiece, the String Octet.

Tickets: Single tickets $55 (online), $60 (at the door), Students $15 (at the door, with ID)