Takács Quartet with Erika Eckert

Takács Quartet with Erika Eckert (Viola)

December 9, 2014 8:00 pm The Vancouver Playhouse

Ludwig van Beethoven
Quartet in B flat major, Opus 130, with Finale

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
String Quintet in G minor, K516

In 2012, Gramophone announced that the Takács was the only string quartet to be inducted into its first Hall of Fame, and they are one of our constant favourites. Their irresistible blend of virtuosic technique and engaging personality offers fresh insights into the emotion of the Romantics, balancing the passionate and the delicate within an elegant structure.

Erika Eckert, a regular Quartet collaborator, has garnered numerous accolades, including first prizes at both the Walter W. Naumburg Chamber Music and the Cleveland Quartet competitions. We are particularly excited to hear the rarely-performed Mozart Quintet.