Quatuor Mosaïques

November 2, 2014 3:00 pm The Vancouver Playhouse

Franz Joseph Haydn
Quartet in D minor, Opus 103

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Quartet in D minor, K421

Robert Schumann
Quartet in A major, Opus 41 No. 3

The Quatuor Mosaïques is an Austrian string quartet founded in 1987 by four members of the Concentus Musicus Wien. Specializing in 18th century music, they play on period instruments, revitalizing the great European quartet tradition to reveal the spiritual wealth of the music.

Using different tuning, strings, bows, and holding, they produce a unique attack and decay of sound that makes for a truly novel experience. Their performance of central European classical repertoire has received distinctions such as the Diapason d’Or,and several Gramophone awards for their recordings of Haydn and Mozart.

Co-presented with Early Music Vancouver.