Pražák Quartet

March 10, 2015 8:00 pm The Vancouver Playhouse

Franz Joseph Haydn
Quartet in B flat major, Opus 71 No.1

Leoš Janáček
Quartet No. 2 “Intimate Letters”

Antonín Dvořák
Quartet in E flat major, Opus 51

Established in 1972, the Pražák Quartet is one of the leading string quartets from the former Czechoslovakia, and among the longest-lived from any country. Not surprisingly, the ensemble has shown a preference for Czech repertory, gaining attention for its place in the unique Czech quartet tradition, and for its musical virtuosity. Their warm, burnished, mellow Bohemian sound is definitive, and makes for incomparable playing of music of their birthplace. Since they first played for us, their superb musicianship and fascinating chamber arrangements are a highlight every season they return.